skip to main content

Class Schedule and Pricing

Ashtanga classes:
Monday: 6:00-7:20am - Led by Son Hui
Tuesday-Friday 6:00-7:20am Mysore classes
Saturday: 9-10:30am - Led class
$145.00 per month unlimited classes
$20.00 per single class

$80.00 per month (great for beginners)
Monday, Wednesday and Friday
from 8:00-9:00am all Led classes
$10.00 per single class

$95.00 one hour private session
Minimum of 24 hour notice for cancellation is required, otherwise fee will be charged.

Son Hui is committed to teach Ashtanga yoga taught by Shri K. Pattabhi Jois and R.
Sharath at the KPJAYI in Mysore, India.

Son Hui was approved by Yoga Alliance on 6/29/2005 as a Registered Yoga Teacher.

Ashtanga Yoga
Ashtanga Yoga is an ancient system of Yoga that was taught by Vamana Rishi in the
Yoga Korunta. This text was imparted to Sri T. Krishnamacharya in the early 1900s by
his Guru Rama Mohan Brahmachari, and was later passed down to Pattabhi Jois during
the duration of his studies with Krishnamacharya, beginning in 1927.

The following are aspects that Pattabhi Jois emphasizes as the main components of
Ashtanga Yoga.

Vinyasa:
Vinyasa means breathing and movement system. For each movement, there is one
breath. For example, in Surya Namaskara there are nine vinyasas. The first vinyasa is
inhaling while raising your arms over your head, and putting your hands together; the
second is exhaling while bending forward, placing your hands next to your feet, etc. In
this way all asanas are assigned a certain number of vinyasas.

The purpose of vinyasa is for internal cleansing. Breathing and moving together while
performing asanas makes the blood hot, or as Pattabhi Jois says, boils the blood. Thick
blood is dirty and causes disease in the body. The heat created from yoga cleans the
blood and makes it thin, so that it may circulate freely. The combination of the asanas
with movements and breath make the blood circulate freely around all the joints, taking
away body pains. When there is a lack of circulation, pain occurs. The heated blood
also moves though all the internal organs removing impurities and disease, which are
brought out of the body by the sweat that occurs during practice.

Sweat is an important by-product of vinyasa, because it is only through sweat that
disease leaves the body and purification occurs. In the same way that gold is melted in
a pot to remove its impurities, by the virtue of the dirt rising to the surface as the gold
boils, and the dirt then being removed, yoga boils the blood and bring all our toxins to
the surface, which are removed through sweat. If the method of vinyasa is followed, the
body becomes healthy and strong, and pure like gold.

After the body is purified, it is possible to purify the nervous system, and then the sense
organs. These first steps are very difficult and require many years of practice. The
sense organs are always looking outside, and the body is always giving in to laziness.
However, through determination and diligent practice, these can be controlled. After this
is accomplished, mind control comes automatically. Vinyasa creates the foundation for
this to occur.

Moon Days

We will practice backbending and stretching on moondays

2019 Moondays

January 5, Saturday new moon
January 20, Sunday full moon
February 4, Monday new moon
February 19, Tuesday full moon
March 6, Wednesday new moon
March 20, Wednesday full moon
April 4, Thursday new moon
April 18, Thursday full moon
May 4, Saturday new moon
May 18, Saturday full moon
June 3, Monday new moon
June 17, Monday full moon
July 2, Tuesday new moon
July 16, Tuesday full moon
July 31, Wednesday new moon
August 15, Thursday full moon
August 31, Saturday new moon
September 13, Friday full moon
September 28, Saturday new moon
October 13, Sunday full moon
October 27, Sunday new moon
November 12, Tuesday full moon
November 26, Tuesday new moon
December 11, Wednesday full moon
December 25, Wednesday new moon



Return to Top of Page

Copyright © 2019 Yi Yoga. All Rights Reserved


>